Songs to Cry By, Part 1

25 10 2008

As we continue to remember Anna, tears become our constant companion.  What we have found over the past several months is that tears have a multiplicity of meaning.  They express joy, sorrow, pain, happiness, hope, despair.  And the messy thing about these emotions is that they sometimes come all at once.  There are certain songs that we listen to that are guaranteed to bring us to tears. 

I want to share these songs with you, not with the thought that you will share the same emotions as we, but that you might hear some familiar songs in a new light.  Perhaps you will know someone who is grieving and you can pass them along.  At the very least, you will have the opportunity to listen to some good music.

The first two are by Chris Rice.   Deep Enough to Dream gives me a glimpse into what Anna is doing now.  The line that sends me over the edge, if I am not there already, is “Deep enough to reach out and touch the face of the One who made me.”  Here is a video of the song.  I am not crazy about the pictures in the video.  I much prefer the video I already created wth my imagination.  But I had trouble uploading that one to the internet.  So we will have to take what we can get.

The second song, also by Chris Rice, is called Untitled Hymn (Come to Jesus).  An old friend of mine that I had not seen in years sang this song at Anna’s memorial service in California.  I did not know it well at the time, but I sure do now.  The last verse speaks for itself.


Actions

Information

2 responses

25 10 2008
Orlena

I love these songs, too–I really do, the music and the words. We still think of you and uplift you in our prayers. We love you. =)

19 11 2008
Lucy Sheriff

Well, I just lost all I had written to you. The ability to use text boxes correctly sometimes eludes me. This is the first time I have opened your blog spot. Thanks for the songs; I especially like Come To Jesus. We love you and wish we could visit….listen to the songs together….talk about Anna….hug your necks. Tell Sam we love him. You are in our thoughts and prayers. Lucy S.

Leave a Reply

