Samuel Sings Bach

1 05 2009

Samuel has a recital coming up on May 16 at the seminary.  He is scheduled to sing two songs, People Need the Lord and Bach’s Bist du bei mir.  The second piece he will be singing in English translation.  I had not read the lyric to this piece until today and was struck again by the depth of older music that we just don’t have in today’s music.  Samuel has had a lot to think about over this past year.  Readers here will know that May 7 is the anniversary of Anna’s death.  And Samuel’s grandmother is going through life and death decisions right now.  And we are making decisions right now as a family that I know are unsettling to Samuel because he does not know (along with us) where we will be in three months.

With all that in mind, here is the song he will be singing at his recital:

Art thou with me?
I go with gladness
To death and unto my repose.
Ah, how content such death would find me:
If thy fair hands were there to teach me,
My ever faithful eyes to close.
Art thou with me?
I go with gladness
To death and unto my repose.

I hope Samuel is paying attention to what he sings.  I suspect he is.


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

