A Long Hiatus

17 02 2010

For those of you who are still out there, you may have noticed that I have not updated the blog since Dec. 7.  Last year.  There are several reasons for this.  It was mostly some personal things that I was struggling with.  Writing about Anna became less therapeutic and more a source of joyless pain.  Granted, I am not writing about her as a source of therapy, although I am certain that that is one result.  I am getting into things, however, which I do not intend to broach at this time, so I had better be quiet now.

I received a comment the other day from a girl in Louisville who was a classmate of Anna at Chenoweth Elementary School in Louisville in the second grade.  She had just recently heard about Anna’s death and had written to tell us she was sorry about it.  I guess the fact that people who knew Anna are just still just finding out about her death is leading me to continue to write.  And so I will write more.  Not because of how it makes me feel, but because I think Anna’s story needs to be heard.

And really not because Anna’s story needs to be heard, but because the gospel needs to be heard, and Anna’s story is the gospel.  I will write more on that later.  For now, let me cloase with this.  I want all of you to know that we still love and miss Anna.  We still grieve her loss.  We still, with slight modifications each day, honor and serve our Lord.  We still, though we lack understanding at times, await his coming with joy and anticipation.  And in that hope we move forward.  And sometimes in that same hope we sit and are still.  And sometimes, still in that same hope, we fall back a step or two, waiting for our gracious Lord to help us to our feet.

Blessings to you all.

Anna resurget.  Deloris resurget.  Nanny resurget.


Actions

Information

4 responses

18 02 2010
Lisa Chambers

Welcome back….praying for each of you……we love and miss you guys and we miss Anna too!!!

21 02 2010
Susan

I am glad you are sharing about Anna again.

22 02 2010
Susan Burk

Thanks for the post, Todd. We miss y’all so much. I always love to read your posts about Anna, too. Praying for y’all.

22 03 2010
Tim Heard

Todd, Timberley and Samuel resurget. Christ will help you rise again, each time you stumble, or each time you simply must lie down and rest from weariness and sadness.

Hi Todd. I just stumbled across your blog today. We didn’t really know Anna well, but were so blessed to have known her through the stories you shared at the memorial service at HBC. I’m sure that there are others who have been touched similarly by your blog.

I pray that God will continue to help you get back up each day and that He will help you bear the pain of Anna’s loss as you try to figure out His path for your lives.

Tim

Leave a Reply

